Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung has approved the Central Highlands planning till 2030, in which the region will strive for the urbanisation rate of about 40.7 percent.

The Central Highlands covering a total area of more than 54, comprises five provinces of Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong and Lam Dong.

In 2030, the region is expected to be home to about 7,390,600 people, of which 3,095,600 will live in 117 urban areas. It will serve as a centre for trade activities of countries in the Greater Mekong River sub-region and the East Sea.

Based on particular features on nature, infrastructure, advantages and potential for development, the Central Highlands will be divided into sub-regions and economic development corridors.

Accordingly, the northern Central Highlands sub-region, including Gia Lai and Kon Tum provinces, will focus on developing hydropower industry and eco-tourism, while the southern sub-region, including Dak Nong and Lam Dong, will concentrate on mineral exploitation and high-tech agriculture. Dak Lak province, the central sub-region, will develop the agro-forestry sector, particularly coffee processing and export.

By 2030, 10 border gates, 24 industrial zones and 74 industrial clusters will be established in the region.

The region will also make efforts to develop tourism along with environmental protection, and boost connectivity with localities in central and southern Vietnam.-VNA