PM leads National Committee for E-Government hinh anh 1Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc (Source: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc has become Chairman of the freshly-established National Committee for E-Government.

Deputy Prime Minister Vu Duc Dam serves as the committee’s Vice Chairman, while Minister-Chairman of the Government Office Mai Tien Dung is permanent member and General Secretary of the committee.

Other members include ministers and heads of offices involved.

Earlier, the Government leader signed a decision on the establishment of the committee on the basis of the National Committee for Information Technology Application. The decision took effect as from August 28, 2018.

The committee is tasked with researching and proposing guidelines, strategies, mechanisms and policies to create a legal environment favourable for the development of an e-Government towards a digital Government, digital economy and digital society, thus facilitating the Fourth Industrial Revolution in Vietnam.

The committee will also assist the Government and the PM in instructing, coordinating and inspecting the implementation of tasks and targets to build an e-Government, and sum up and review the work to report to the Government and the PM.

The PM also issued the working regulations of the committee, under which the committee will meet once every quarter.-VNA