The ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) led by incumbent Prime Minister Najib Razak has won the Malaysian general election, said the Malaysian Election Commission (EC) early May 6.

The BN won 133 seats in the parliament (59.91 percent) while the opposition three-party Pakatan Rakyat (PR) alliance ended with 89 seats.

Parties must gain at least 122 out of the total 222 seats to take control of Malaysia’s parliament.

With the victory, the BN lost 8 seats in the parliament but gained control in one more state, that of Kedah which has been held by the PR since 2008.

The opposition camp refused to accept the results, saying that the election was fraudulent.

Meanwhile, PM Razak told the media that the election took place in a fair and free manner. He said one of the programmes the BN will undertake is national reconciliation.

More than 80 percent of 13.3 million Malaysian electors, had turned out at the election, a record high.-VNA