A session of the Myanmar's Parliament (Photo: AFP)

Hanoi (VNA) - Myanmar’s new Parliament elected Mann Win Khaing Than as Speaker of the House of Nationalities (upper house) and Aye Tha Aung as Deputy Speaker on February 3.

Mann Win Khaing from the National League for Democracy (NLD) was elected to the Upper House from Kayin state constituency while Aye Tha Aung from the Arakan National Party (ANP) is a Rakhine ethnic parliament representative.

The new parliament convened its first session in Nay Pyi Taw on February 1. U Win Myint of the NLD was chosen as Speaker of the House of Representatives (lower house) and U Ti Khun Myat of the Union Solidarity and Development Party as Deputy Speaker.

The NLD, led by Aung San Suu Kyi, marked a landslide victory on the November 8 general election, winning some 80 percent of the parliamentary seats.-VNA