India will offer online visa facilities to 45 countries, including the US, Australia, Germany, Israel, Japan, the United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Thailand, Singapore and Russia, according to The Times of India.

The e-visa scheme will be announced by the Indian Ministry of Home Affairs and Tourism on November 27, it said, adding that visa applicants will receive an online confirmation within three to five working days and the visa will be valid for a 30-day period from the date of their arrival in India .

Countries that have already granted visa on arrival and will be able to apply under the electronic travel authorisation scheme include Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Singapore, Cambodia, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam, the Philippines, Laos and the Republic of Korea.-VNA