Singapore launches vaccinated travel lane with Vietnam hinh anh 1Passengers at Changi International Airport of Singapore (Photo: VNA)
Singapore (VNA) – As Vietnam is scheduled to reopen its borders for international tourism from March 15, Singapore has decided to launch the vaccinated travel lane (VTL) with Vietnam, restoring two-way quarantine-free travel.

This is among the outcomes of President Nguyen Xuan Phuc’s State visit to Singapore from February 24 to 26, expected to help further boost post-pandemic recovery of the two countries.

In an announcement on March 4, the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) said Vaccinated Travel Pass (VTP) applications for travellers from Vietnam will open at 10am (Singapore time) on March 13.

Short-term visitors and work permit holders eligible to travel on the VTL must apply for a VTP to enter Singapore under the VTL. Fully vaccinated Singapore citizens, permanent residents, all other long-term pass holders and In-Principle Approval (IPA) holders, and children aged 12 years and below in the calendar year do not need to apply for a VTP to enter Singapore under the VTL.

According to VTL requirements, short-term visitors must be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 with any vaccine in the World Health Organisation (WHO) Emergency Use List, at least 14 days prior to arrival in Singapore; provide a digitally verifiable vaccination certificate in English issued by Singapore or the VTL country; provide a negative result from a professionally administered COVID-19 PCR or ART test taken within two days prior to departure to Singapore; and purchase COVID-19 medical insurance with a minimum coverage of 30,000 SGD (22,000 USD).

Meanwhile, recovered travellers do not need to show a test result within 90 days since their recovery certified by recognised medical facilities.

Aside from Vietnam, Singapore will also launch the VTL with Greece this time.

Also from March 16, the VTL for Malaysia will extend beyond Kuala Lumpur to include Penang. That for Indonesia will extend beyond Jakarta to include Bali-Denpasar. The VTL for India will extend beyond Chennai, Delhi, and Mumbai to include all Indian cities. 

The VTL has enabled Singapore to reopen borders safely while managing public health risks. Since September 8, 2021, Singapore has established VTLs with 30 countries/regions./.