Vaccine ComBE Five continues to be used nationwide hinh anh 1The ComBE Five vaccine will continue to be used in the national expanded immunisation programme (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNS/VNA) - The Ministry of Health (MoH) will continue to use the ComBE Five vaccine in a national expanded immunisation programme (EIP), a senior official said.

Tran Dac Phu, head of the Department of Preventive Medicine under the MoH, said the ministry has directed cities and provinces nationwide to continue using this vaccine in accordance with the approved plan.

A number of parents have raised concerns following a number of reports of post-vaccination complications.

The central province of Binh Dinh reportedly suspended use of the vaccine soon after a two-month old baby died after it was administered.

Other side-effects were reported in a number of localities including Hanoi and Hai Phong.

According to Phu, normal reactions such as mild fever or a slight pain around the injection site are reported in 1.73 percent of children.

Reports from localities in which the ComBE Five is used showed that between 0.05 and 5.5 percent of children have a fever after receiving the vaccine.

“All vaccines imported to Vietnam in general and Combe Five in particular are transferred in batches and inspected separately. Lots of vaccines that are used meet safety standards and are granted licences,” he said.

He advised parents to keep children at medical centres for 30 minutes after immunisation so doctors can monitor and treat any abnormal reactions.

ComBE Five is a “five-in-one” vaccine that can help fight five common, potentially fatal diseases affecting infants – diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough, hepatitis B and Haemophilus influenza type B.

More than 400 million doses of ComBE Five have been used for children in 39 countries and territories since it was approved by the World Health Organisation.

In May 2017, ComBE Five obtained a licence from the Ministry of Health. The vaccine was first administrated for more than 17,300 children in seven provinces of Ha Nam, Bac Giang, Yen Bai, Kon Tum, Binh Dinh, Dong Thap and Ba Ria Vung Tau.-VNS/VNA