The Cambodian People's Party (CPP) led by Prime Minister Hun Sen won 46 seats in the election of the Senate, third legislature, reported the National Election Committee (NEC) on Feb. 18.

The remaining 11 seats were taken by the Sam Rainsy Party (SRP), the country's main opposition party.

NEC Secretary General Tep Nytha said that out of the 57 elected senators, eight are women, six belonging to the CPP and two to the SRP.

Two other senators will be nominated by the King and another two by the National Assembly, raising the total number of senators for the third Senate to 61.

According to the constitution, the Senate must hold its first session no later than 60 days after the election.

This year’s Senate election began on Jan. 29. It is held every six years./.