Vietnamese Party, State and National Assembly leaders on June 16 sent messages of congratulations to their newly elected Lao counterparts.

Well-wishers included Party General Secretary and National Assembly Chairman Nguyen Phu Trong, State President Nguyen Minh Triet and Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung.

The seventh Lao National Assembly re-elected General Secretary of the Lao People's Revolutionary Party (LPRP) Choummaly Sayasone as President at its first session that opened in Vientiane on June 15.

Lao NA delegates also re-elected Thongsing Thammavong as Prime Minister, Pany Yathortou as National Assembly President and Politburo member of the LPRP Central Committee Bounnhang Volachit as Vice State President.

In his message to LPRP General Secretary and State President Choummaly Sayasone, President Nguyen Minh Triet wrote that Choummaly Sayasone’s re-election as State President proved that he won trust from the State and people of Laos for his virtue, talent and contributions.

President Triet expressed his belief that under the leadership of Choummaly Sayasone, the Lao people would build Laos into a country of peace, independence, democracy, unity, prosperity and with a growing position in the international arena.

He also said he believed that the traditional friendship, special solidarity and comprehensive cooperation between Parties, States and peoples of Vietnam and Laos would be constantly developed for the benefit of the two nations and for peace, stability and cooperation in Southeast Asia and the world./.