The Government of Indonesia will confirm its sovereignty over 47 islands this year, according to the country’s Ministry of Agrarian Affairs and National Land Office.

Minister for Agrarian Affairs and Head of National Land Office Ferry Mursyidan Baldan said the certification will be followed by the registration of the islands at the International Court to prevent claim by other countries in the future.

He also said the islands will be connected to a stable electricity supply by the country’s Independence Day on August 17.

According to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), Indonesia has 92 outer islands which directly border 10 countries.

The islands are known widely for their aesthetic beauty and their natural resource reserves.-VNA