Malaysia lifts travel ban on eight African nations hinh anh 1Tourists arrive at Langkawi Island, Malaysia, September 16. (Photo: AFP/VNA)
Kuala Lumpur (VNA) - Malaysia has lifted a travel ban on eight southern African countries, which were among the first to report the Omicron variant of the coronavirus, said Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin on December 28.

The official said given the rapid spread of the variant globally, there was no reason to continue with a travel ban against those in Africa.

The eight countries, which include South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Malawi, will remain on a list of nations deemed as high-risk, with travellers from these states subject to additional restrictions upon arrival, he said.

According to the minister, authorities have detected 306 suspected Omicron cases out of 366 samples from visitors who had tested positive for COVID-19 upon arrival between December 21 and 25.       

Previously, the Malaysian Government added nine countries to the list of those at high risk of spreading the COVID-19 pandemic. The nations consists of the UK, the US, Australia, France, Norway, Denmark, Canada, Nigeria and India./.