Malaysia's core cabinet sworn in hinh anh 1Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad  (second from right) (Source: EPA)


Kuala Lumpur (VNA) - Core members of the cabinet led by newly-elected Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad were sworn in on May 21.

The thirteen ministers were all from the four parties in the ruling Pakatan Harapan coalition. 

Muhyiddin Yassin, President of the Malaysian United Indigenous Party (PPBM), was named as Minister of Home Affairs. Maszlee Malik from PPBM became Minister of Education while Rina Harun became Minister of Rural Development. 

The Defence Minister position was given to Mohamad Sabu, President of the People's Justice Party (PJP). PJP Vice President Salahuddin Ayub will helm the Ministry of Agriculture and Industry. 

Dzulkefly Ahmad was named Health Minister. General Secretary of the Democratic Action Party (DAP) Lim Guan Eng was appointed as Finance Minister while DAP Vice President M Kulasegaran became Minister of Human Resources. 

Other cabinet members were Transport Minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook and Minister of Communications and Multimedia Gobind Singh Deo. 

When addressing civil servants for the first time at the Prime Minister's Office the same day, Mahathir, 92, said he wants to restore the country's past glory.-VNA