Myanmar media on June 12 reported that 15 Myanmar ethnic parties have agreed to form a union called the Federal Union Party (FUP).

The 15 ethnic parties include those from such minorities as Shan, Chin, Rakhine, Mon, Kayan, Inn and Pa-O.

The decision was made at a conference in Taunggyi, the capital of Shan state to prepare for the 2015 general election. The unification is expected to enable these ethnic parties to compete with some strong parties and defend themselves against possible practicing of the proportional representation (PR) system in the parliament.

In the November 2010 multi-party general election, the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) and the National Unity Party (NUP) won the majority of the parliamentary seats.

Three ethnic parties, including Shan Nationalities Democratic Party (SNDP), Rakhoine Nationalities Development Party (RNDP) and All Mon Regions Democracy Party occupied the most minor number of the rest of the seats.-VNA