Myanmar President U Thein Sein has resigned as chairman of the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), according to the party's Union Daily.

His party post was replaced by the party’s Vice Chairman U Shwe Mann, the paper said.

The country’s 2008 Constitution states that "if the president and the vice presidents are members of a political party, they shall not take part in its party activities during their term of office from the day of their election".

A decision to handover the chairman’s post to first Vice President Shwe Mann was announced at the USDP’s Youth Conference on May 1.

Quitting his military title of general, U Thein Sein formed the USDP in April 2010 to run the general election in November the same year. At the election the USDP won the majority of the parliamentary seats, becoming the ruling party and he was elected as representative to the House of Representatives.

In March 2011, U Thein Sein won the presidential election for a five-year term of office.

In October 2012, the USDP held its first party conference in Nay Pyi Taw but made no major change in its reorganisation set-up with its top leadership.

At present, there are 58 legal political parties in Myanmar , of which the USDP and the National League for Democracy are leading.-VNA