The Cao Bang provincial People’s Committee held a ceremony on April 26 to inaugurate the representative offices for the No.5 and No.6 sections of the shared border with China.

Under the previous agreement on mainland border management between Vietnam and China , both governments agreed to set up eight representative offices along the joint border.

The border passes through Vietnam ’s northern provinces of Dien Bien, Lai Chau, Lao Cai, Ha Giang, Cao Bang, Lang Son and Quang Ninh.
Section No.5 starts from marker No. 498 in Ha Giang province to marker No.820 in Trung Khanh district, Cao Bang province, while section N.6 begins at marker No.820 to marker No.962 in Thach An district, Cao Bang province.

The representative offices are responsible for handling urgent issues that arise along the border and also to strictly enforce the border’s management regulations.

They also play a key role in maintaining a stable border, promoting exchanges between the peoples of both countries and facilitating social and economic development in each country.-VNA