Bangkok (VNA) – Thailand's Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation on early March 24 issued a tsunami warning for six southern provinces - Ranong, Phuket, Phang Nga, Krabi, Trang and Satun - after earthquakes occurred in the Indian Ocean.

The warning said a 5.0-magnitude earthquake hit the area around Andaman Islands of India at 6:29 pm local time on March 23, followed by a 5.2-magnitude at 6:34 pm, which is 630 kilometers away from the shore of Thailand's Phuket province.

The department asked the six provinces to keep following the situation in case Tsunami hits. 

Andaman Islands and part of Thai territories have seen regular strong quakes. Notably, the earthquake and tsunami occurred on December 26, 2004 killed 5,078 people and injured 8,457 others in the six localities.-VNA