Flag raised in Ukraine to mark ASEAN founding anniversary hinh anh 1Delegates attend the ceremony. (Source: VNA)

The Vietnamese Embassy in Ukraine hosted a ceremony on August 25 to hoist the ASEAN flag in celebration of the bloc’s 48th founding anniversary (August 10) and the 20th year of Vietnam’s ASEAN membership.

Participants included Vietnamese Ambassador to Ukraine Nguyen Minh Tri, Malaysian Ambassador Chuah Teong Ban and Indonesian Ambassador Niniek Kun Naryatie Siswojo, along with representatives from the embassies of Indonesia and Malaysia in the country.

Speaking at the event, Ambassador Tri hailed the significant achievements of the bloc over the past 48 years, saying these contributed to enhancing its reputation and the central role in the Asian – Pacific region in maintaining peace, security, order and development.

ASEAN has continually been the top priority in Vietnam’s policies on external relations and international integration, Tri reiterated, adding that the country has actively participated in all cooperation activities within the bloc.

The Vietnamese diplomat highlighted Vietnam’s achievements in all aspects in the past 20 years of ASEAN membership.

He also hoped that member countries would join together for a developed and peaceful ASEAN and closer relationships among ASEAN peoples, given the impending birth of the ASEAN Community later this year.

On the occasion, guests were treated to a number of music performances and traditional dishes prepared by ASEAN embassies.

The annual ASEAN flag hoisting ceremony is held in each ASEAN member state to honour their common values and as a symbol of their determination to promote solidarity and cooperation.

The ASEAN flag’s colours – blue, red, white and yellow – represent the main colours of the member countries’ flags. It symbolises unity and support for the bloc’s principles and mission and represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic ASEAN.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.-VNA