Vietjet Air enters interline partnership with Qatar Airways hinh anh 1Vietjet Air enters interline partnership with Qatar Airways (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) –
Low-cost Vietjet Air and Qatar Airways have signed a code-share/interline partnership agreement to bring more choices and convenience for passengers.

In the first phase of the cooperation programme, Qatar Airways passengers will be able to travel to all Vietnamese and international destinations on Vietjet Air flights, while Vietjet Air passengers could fly with Qatar Airways to over 150 destinations around the world in the future.

Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive Akbar Al Baker said: “We are delighted to welcome Vietjet to our growing roster of interline partners as they allow us to provide a more seamless experience for our passengers. The new agreement with Vietjet will offer our passengers even more choice, providing them an easy connection in Ho Chi Minh City or Hanoi before transferring to their Qatar Airways flights.”

Deputy Director of Vietjet Air Nguyen Thi Thuy Binh said the agreement is part of the airline’s programme to diversify products and bring more traveling opportunities for people.

Vietjet Air will continue expanding cooperation with global airlines via technological connection to offer more choices and convenience for passengers, she added.

Qatar Airways is conducting two flights per day on a direct air route between Hanoi and Doha and 10 flights per week between Ho Chi Minh City and Doha.

Earlier, Vietjet Air and Japan Airlines reached a similar cooperation agreement for routes between Japan and Vietnam, their domestic routes, as well as flights between Vietnam and other Asian nations.

Currently, Vietjet boasts a fleet of 45 aircraft, including A320s and A321s, and operates 350 flights each day, carrying approximately 40 million passengers to date.

It has already opened 73 routes in Vietnam and across the region to international destinations such as Thailand, Singapore, the Republic of Korea, China’s Hong Kong, China’s Taiwan, China, Malaysia, Myanmar and Cambodia.-VNA