New town, township founded in Bia Ria – Vung Tau, Lam Dong hinh anh 1A view of the International Container Terminal Tan Cang - Cai Mep in Phu My district-level town (old Tan Thanh district), Ba Ria - Vung Tau. (Photo: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) – The National Assembly’s Standing Committee has announced resolutions on the establishment of Phu My township in southern Ba Ria-Vung Tau province and Phuoc Cat town in the Central Highlands province of Lam Dong.

According to the Resolution No. 492/NQ-UBTVQH14, dated April 12, 2018, the district-level township of Phu My was founded, replacing Tan Thanh district. It covers an area of 333.84 sqkm and has a population of over 175,800 people.

The new township borders Ho Chi Minh City to the west, Ba Ria and Vung Tau cities to the south and Dong Nai province to the north. It includes five wards of Hac Dinh, My Xuan, Phu My, Phuoc Hoa and Tan Phuoc, alongside five communes of Chau Pha, Song Xoai, Tan Hai, Tan Hoa and Toc Tien.

Now Ba Ria-Vung Tau province has eight district-level administrative units, including five districts, a township and two provincial cities.

Meanwhile, the Resolution No. 493/NQ-UBTVQH14, also dated April 12, 2018 declares that Phuoc Cat 1 commune of Cat Tien district, Lam Dong province, will become Phuoc Cat town which covers an area of 16.97 sqkm and has a population of over 7,200 people.

The commune-level town shares border with Binh Phuoc province to the west and the south and with Dong Nai to the south.

After the establishment of Phuoc Cat town, Cat Tien district has 11 commune-level administrative units, including nine communes and two towns. Cat Tien is among ten districts and two provincial cities of Lam Dong.-VNA